Shiesty Season

Pooh Shiesty

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

Shiesty Season Review

by Fred Thomas

Memphis rapper and Gucci Mane protégé Pooh Shiesty hinted at what he was capable on his ruthless 2020 single "Back in Blood." The icy track found Shiesty and Lil Durk in a mode of complete menace, with spirals of lyrics about shooting up the opposition and threatening to do it again without warning. The track was one of the harder songs to break the Billboard Top 100, and debut mixtape Shiesty Season is every bit as intense and unflappable as the sneak previews that preceded it. The 17-track project starts in full gear, with the fast flows of "Shiesty Season (Intro)" giving way to the established power of "Back in Blood." Several guests show up across the track listing, including 21 Savage on "Box of Churches," Tay Keith on the roundabout tribute "Masta P," and Gucci Mane on the somewhat subdued piano-loop-based trap track "Ugly." Particularly impressive is Foogiano's laid-back, smirking contribution to the otherwise severe "Take a Life." Some songs start to feel redundant, but Shiesty's energy stays in the red for the entirety of Shiesty Season. The best moments deliver on the promise exhibited with "Back in Blood," and the lesser tracks are still formidable thanks to the balance of hunger and excitement that Shiesty carries through the entire mixtape.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 Pooh Shiesty 01:47 Amazon
2 Pooh Shiesty 03:04 Amazon
3 Pooh Shiesty 03:12 Amazon
4 Pooh Shiesty 03:01 Amazon
5 Pooh Shiesty 02:51 Amazon
6 Pooh Shiesty 03:00 Amazon
7 Pooh Shiesty 02:23 Amazon
8 Pooh Shiesty 03:05 Amazon
9 Pooh Shiesty 03:27 Amazon
10 Pooh Shiesty 03:07 Amazon
11 Pooh Shiesty 03:18 Amazon
12 Pooh Shiesty 02:30 Amazon
13 Pooh Shiesty 02:30 Amazon
14 Pooh Shiesty 02:35 Amazon
15 Pooh Shiesty 02:30 Amazon
16 Pooh Shiesty 03:20 Amazon
17 Pooh Shiesty 03:13 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick