David Arnold / Michael Price

Sherlock: Music from Series Two [Original Television Soundtrack]

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

While fans of the hugely popular BBC adaptation of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle's classic detective novels had to wait 18 months to get their hands on the original score for the first series, the official soundtrack to the second arrived just weeks after its intriguing finale pulled in a massive eight million viewers. Composed yet again by Michael Price (Band of Brothers) and David Arnold (James Bond), its 19 instrumentals pursue a similar minimal and suitably suspenseful classical sound as its BAFTA/Emmy-nominated predecessor, from the haunting violin solo of "Irene's Theme" (the opening track dedicated to the ruthless dominatrix who appeared in A Scandal in Belgravia), to the unsettling percussion and eerie sound effects of "Pursued by a Hound" (from a pivotal scene in The Hounds of Baskerville), to the unbearably intense orchestral crescendo of "Prepared to Do Anything" (the climactic number from the watercooler final episode, The Reichenbach Fall). Apart from the sweeping elegance of "Sherlocked," which could have wandered in from Downton Abbey, and the playful incorporation of the theme music on "Status Symbols," the sparse and restrained pieces are little more than incidental music which understandably fail to pack the same punch without any visuals. But it's still an appropriately dramatic and atmospheric affair which should appeal to those who want to immerse themselves even further in the modern-day mysteries of the great detective.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time
Sherlock: A Scandal in Belgravia
1 0:42
2 1:58
3 2:33
The Sherlock: A Scandal in Belgravia
4 2:31
Sherlock: A Scandal in Belgravia
5 2:16
6 3:01
7 3:44
Sherlock: The Hounds of Baskerville
8 1:45
The Sherlock: The Hounds of Baskerville
9 2:30
Sherlock: The Hounds of Baskerville
10 2:21
11 2:44
12 3:11
The Sherlock: The Hounds of Baskerville
13 3:40
Sherlock: The Hounds of Baskerville
14 2:05
Sherlock: The Reichenbach Fall
15 3:12
16 2:45
17 4:18
18 2:07
19 2:08
blue highlight denotes track pick