Sharks Patrol These Waters

Various Artists

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

Sharks Patrol These Waters Review

by Heather Phares

Sharks Patrol These Waters collects songs from the Volume series of cutting-edge alternative/indie-rock collections. Nearly every style of underground pop music, from Britpop to noise-pop to dream-pop, is included on this massive compilation. Among the many highlights here are the Cocteau Twins' twinkly cover of "Frosty The Snowman," Slowdive's "Some Velvet Morning," Stereolab's "Super Falling Star," the Sugarcube's "Hetero Scum" and Suede's "My Insatiable One." The Breeders' "Safari," Belly's "White Belly" and Throwing Muses' "Firepile" recall 4AD's edgy girl-pop heyday, while Elastica's "S.O.F.T," Blur's "Oily Water," Pulp's "She's Dead" and Echobelly's "Fake" define Britpop's early sounds. Tracks from Morphine, Teenage Fanclub, Lush, James, Spiritualized, St. Etienne and Radiohead round out the collection, which also works well as a snapshot of British and American alternative music in the early '90s.

blue highlight denotes track pick