Mary J. Blige

Share My World

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by Alex Henderson

The hype that surrounded Mary J. Blige in the beginning was simply ridiculous. When What's the 411? was released in 1992, she was exalted as "the new Chaka Khan"-- a definite exaggeration, considering how uneven that debut album was. But Blige did show promise, and by the time she recorded her third album, Share My World, she had developed into a fairly convincing soul/urban singer. Her strongest and most confident effort up to that point, Share had much more character, personality, and honesty than most of the assembly line fare dominating urban radio in 1997. For all their slickness, emotive cuts like "Get to Know You Better," "Love Is All We Need," and "Keep Your Head" left no doubt that Blige was indeed a singer of depth and substance. Although high tech, the production of everyone from R. Kelly (with whom she duets on the inviting "It's On") and Babyface to Jimmy Jam and Terry Lewis doesn't come across as forced or robotic, but, in fact, is impressively organic. With Share My World, Blige definitely arrived.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
Mary J. Blige 01:24 SpotifyAmazon
2 Mary J. Blige 04:46 SpotifyAmazon
3 Mary J. Blige 04:14 SpotifyAmazon
4 Mary J. Blige 04:24 SpotifyAmazon
Mary J. Blige 00:30 SpotifyAmazon
6 Mary J. Blige 05:07 SpotifyAmazon
7 Mary J. Blige 05:09 SpotifyAmazon
8 Mary J. Blige 04:42 SpotifyAmazon
9 Mary J. Blige 00:44 SpotifyAmazon
10 Mary J. Blige 04:16 SpotifyAmazon
11 Mary J. Blige 04:59 SpotifyAmazon
12 Mary J. Blige 03:48 SpotifyAmazon
13 Mary J. Blige 04:39 SpotifyAmazon
14 Mary J. Blige 04:32 SpotifyAmazon
15 Mary J. Blige 05:05 SpotifyAmazon
16 Mary J. Blige 05:21 SpotifyAmazon
17 Mary J. Blige 04:55 SpotifyAmazon
blue highlight denotes track pick