Deep Purple

Shades 1968-1998

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

A lot of care went into the track selection and mastering on this four-CD set, devoted to 30 years in the history of Deep Purple -- though for most listeners, discs one through three, devoted to the band's first eight years, are what will really count. Deep Purple recorded significant bodies of work in several styles, but the years 1968 through 1974, when they evolved out of psychedelia and into heavy metal, are the vitally important ones. The first disc is a treat not only for Deep Purple fans but '60s British rock completists, highlighted by two previously unissued tracks dating from a time when the band was apparently still known officially as Roundabout.

The band's chart singles and a beautifully lyrical and reflective version of the Beatles' "Help" open the first disk, and it's hard not to love those early singles. And then comes "Hallelujah (I Am the Preacher)," which opens the group's classic heavy metal era and heralds the arrival of Ian Gillan on lead vocals and Roger Glover on bass. From there on, and for most of the next two-and-a-half CDs, this set threatens to fry any speakers or ears in its presence. Disc two is from the core of the group's prime years, from the spring of 1971 through the end of that year. The Fireball and Machine Head albums are well represented, and some of this music is surprisingly durable. Disc three covers the peak years, closing out in 1975 at the end of the Tommy Bolin/Glenn Hughes lineup, and disc four picks up with the 1984 reunion. The packaging is slightly awkward, but it comes with a 55-page booklet giving just about the fullest easily available account of the band's impact and importance.

Track Listing - Disc 2

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time
1 4:03
2 3:04
3 3:24
4 5:21
5 4:45
6 8:19
7 6:27
8 3:36
9 5:35
10 4:02
11 3:34
12 6:09
13 5:42
14 5:07
15 4:35
16 5:15
blue highlight denotes track pick