Various Artists

Selected New Music, Vol. 3: Inner Landscapes

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

The third volume in Clear Productions' Selected New Music series brings together these diverse artists at the forefront of new age "image" music and creates a journey through the landscape of the soul. Beginning with Kit Watkins's synthesizer and percussion dance, "Road to Orion," we take off at a rapid, yet comfortable pace, touching upon the spacescapes of Jonn Serrie's interplanetary visions, come back to ground level with Stephen Van Handel's "The Bridge to Anyang," which places us in an Eastern rainforest, where Robert Rich-style percussion stylings lead the way, enjoy Hungarian-born Sandor Szabo's lighthearted inventions on the 16-string guitar-veena, drift off to Laraaji's zither space music, join synthesist Steve Roach in two desertscapes, and return to the present, very gently, to the "Kalimba Dance" of the last track. Well over half of the music was composed specifically for this album, which brings new works by Jonn Serrie, Steve Roach, and Laraaji to a delighted audience.