Marvin Gaye

Seek & You Shall Find: More of the Best (1963-1981)

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

While it features nothing much in the way of big hits or difficult-to-find rarities, Seek & You Shall Find: More of the Best (1963-1981) offers a remarkably concise picture of the creative twists and turns of Marvin Gaye's career at Motown Records. Over the course of these 18 tracks, you can hear the Motown production style evolve from the brassy force of "Wherever I Lay My Hat (That's My Home)" to the subtle and sophisticated funk of "Heavy Love Affair," and Gaye's voice undergoes a similar metamorphosis as he learns the nooks and crannies of his instrument and grows from another solid soul singer into one of the most gifted and idiosyncratic artists in the history of R&B. And while the song titles may not ring many bells, every cut here is top-notch; if this is the "bubbling under" chart of Marvin Gaye's career, the relative obscurity of these songs speaks volumes about how consistently strong his music was during this period. While better-suited to devoted fans than beginners, anyone interested in hearing the great Marvin Gaye at the peak of his powers will want to give Seek & You Shall Find: More of the Best (1963-1981) a listen.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 02:16 Amazon
2 02:29 Amazon
3 02:41 Amazon
4 02:17 Amazon
5 02:32 Amazon
6 02:21 Amazon
7 02:46 Amazon
8 03:14 Amazon
9 03:43 Amazon
10 02:56 Amazon
11 03:30 Amazon
12 02:52 Amazon
13 04:32 Amazon
14 03:14 Amazon
15 03:38 Amazon
16 05:14 Amazon
17 03:55 Amazon
18 03:47 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick