Seal My Fate [UK #2]

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by Jack Rabid

Unlike the first EP version of this import single, EP number two doesn't repeat the studio version of the A-side, but replaces it with a live version along with three more live cuts, "White Belly," "Untitled and Unsung," and "The Bees," all from Belly's concert at London's Shepherd's Bush Empire on March 18, 1995. Freed from Glyn Johns' minor misproduction, the three King songs really come to life, with far more quirky, distinctive pluck and shimmer, like the kind that made Star so revered. The sound quality, courtesy of the top-rate techs at the BBC, is fantastic, and you've really got to hear Tanya Donelly belt so much better (on "Seal My Fate" especially); it's a really hot live performance. And here's also a vote for 4AD to release the entire tape of the Empire show; the one-third on this EP and the 7" is great.

Track Listing

Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 Belly 04:23 Amazon
2 Belly 03:52 Amazon
3 Belly 04:02 Amazon
4 Belly 05:23 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick