John Mark Ainsley / Anthony Rolfe Johnson / Michael Schade

Schubert: The Final Year (The Complete Songs, Vol. 37)

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

With this disc, which contains every song Schubert composed in his final year, Hyperion's Schubert Edition comes to an end. Not only are the Schwanengesang songs of Heine, Rellstab, and Seidl here, but so are the other three Rellstab settings, the other two Seidl settings, and the trio setting of Küffner's adaptation of Paul's Second Letter to the Corinthians. At 79 minutes and 30 seconds, the disc is as full as possible of great music, and at 112 pages of liner notes, the disc's box is as full as possible of accompanist Graham Johnson's every thought and feeling on these 20 songs.

As the Edition's mastermind, Johnson adopted the strategy of using three different tenors for the three different sets of songs: the young German Michael Schade for the five non-Schwanengesang songs, the not-quite-so-young John Mark Ainsley for the Rellstab Schwanengesang songs, the starting-to-get-long-in-the-tooth tenor Anthony Rolfe Johnson for the Heine Schwanengesang songs, and all three together for the Küffner trio. Schade's fresh voice makes his songs sound like the work of a young composer feeling his oats. Ainsley's more mature voice makes the Rellstab Schwanengesang songs sound like the work of a composer at the peak of his powers. Johnson's perhaps too-mature voice makes his Heine Schwanengesang songs sound like the work of a composer who has been battered, beaten, and broken by life, a composer with one foot in the grave. Depending on how you feel about the songs, this strategy is either brilliant or flawed. Schade's voice is fine for his songs, and Ainsley's voice is nearly ideal for his songs, but Johnson's voice is simply too torn and worn. This is a very, very great disc, and every Schubert lover should hear it.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 09:29 Amazon
2 03:24 Amazon
3 02:16 Amazon
4 04:11 Amazon
5 02:03 Amazon
Schwanengesang (Swan Song), song cycle for voice & piano, D. 957
6 02:57 Amazon
7 05:18 Amazon
8 03:55 Amazon
9 04:06 Amazon
10 03:37 Amazon
11 06:06 Amazon
12 04:53 Amazon
13 05:05 Amazon
14 02:15 Amazon
15 02:55 Amazon
16 02:30 Amazon
17 02:52 Amazon
18 04:00 Amazon
19 03:44 Amazon
20 03:42 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick