Nat Adderley

Sayin' Somethin'/Live at Memory Lane

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Cornetist Nat Adderley is in fine form on this compilation of three sessions originally released in 1966 and 1967. The earlier set, Sayin' Somethin', consists of arrangements for a small horn section and, more interestingly, some quintet performances with pianist Herbie Hancock and tenor saxophonist Joe Henderson. Adderley, with a tone variously burnished, buttery, or blistering, makes the most of the larger group setting, but the arrangements of the pop song "Call Me" and Duke Ellington's "Satin Doll" are a tad corny. "Walls of Jericho" threatens to dip into similar territory before finding a good minor-blues groove. The tracks, with Hancock and Henderson, including a version of Hancock's "Cantaloupe Island" that compares well with the pianist's own, make up for the set's earlier shortcomings. Bassist Bob Cranshaw and drummer Roy McCurdy contribute effectively to the authoritative hard bop vibe. Henderson is again in the front line with Adderley for the Live at Memory Lane set. The music, which is in a more advanced hard bop vein than the earlier tracks, is well served by the rhythm section on loan from Cannonball Adderley's quintet: McCurdy, bassist Victor Gaskin, and pianist Joe Zawinul. While it doesn't seem to concern the enthusiastic audience at the Los Angeles club, listeners at home may find one or two of the tracks a bit rambling. Regardless, the set is worthwhile for the presence of Henderson, Zawinul's original pieces, Adderley's own contributions, and for the work of a rhythm section that was part of brother Cannonball's own considerable success during this period.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time
1 2:45
2 3:04
3 6:52
4 3:07
5 2:39
6 7:19
7 3:39
8 7:10
9 4:40
11 9:49
12 8:16
13 8:48
14 4:49
blue highlight denotes track pick