Sarah Vaughan

Sarah & Clifford

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

The careers of trumpeter Clifford Brown and vocalist Sarah Vaughan reached a pivot point in 1954, the former peaking before tragically passing away in a car accident, the latter a continually rising star whose ascent never fizzled. To hear the two of them together reminds listeners how they complemented one another, and why these sessions should always be revisited. Originally heard on the Mercury/EmArcy labels, the first eight selections feature Vaughan's trio with woefully underappreciated pianist John Malachi and well-seasoned drummer Roy Haynes, and include true classics "Lover Man" on the ballad side as well as "Shulie a Bop," perhaps Vaughan's most definitive upbeat number of all time. The remaining eight tracks with Brown's one-off sextet feature him with tenor saxophonist Paul Quinichette, young flutist Herbie Mann, and Haynes in tow backing Sassy. "You're Not the Kind," "April in Paris," and "Embraceable You" stand as testaments to both Brown's and Vaughan's legacies in jazz. Though other sets are far more complete, and fans should have or want them, this collection is good to have in print.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time
1 3:17
2 2:41
3 2:35
4 3:12
5 2:43
6 2:46
7 3:00
8 2:32
9 5:45
10 4:00
11 5:10
12 4:43
14 4:12
15 6:20
16 4:56
17 4:48
blue highlight denotes track pick