Various Artists

Rubble 19: Eiderdown Mindfog

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Like Rubble 18, the 19th volume of the Rubble series wasn't quite released, though it does exist in two forms. Twenty-five test pressings with proof sleeves were made of the LP in 1992 before its release was canceled, forming a rarity rather optimistically valued by Record Collector magazine at 250 pounds. Fortunately, the entire album, artwork and all, was (again, like Rubble 18) issued on CD in 2003 as one volume in the ten-disc box set The Rubble Collection Volumes 11-20. The Rubble concept of worthy, rare late-'60s (usually) U.K. psychedelic pop had played out by this time, with the sense that tracks were being loaded on more because of their rarity than distinctive quality. It's not a knockout comp by any means, but there are some fair cuts here and there, as well as a couple of artists with famous associations: members of the Scots of St. James eventually played in the Average White Band, while Rick Price of Sheridan-Price was in the Move (and "Sheridan," Mike Sheridan, had led a band that Roy Wood recorded with before joining the Move). Tracks deserving mention include the strange Middle Eastern-influenced pop by the husband and wife duet of Rameses & Selket; the Scots of St. James' bouncy "Timothy," with its weird piercing organ sounds; and Sheridan-Price's "Tracey Smith," which has a deft orchestral pop touch, and is far more tuneful than most of the other material on the disc. Incidentally, if you're wondering what's on Rubble 20, that volume was never released on its own, even in a batch of 25 test pressings, though it got as far as getting a catalog number and sleeve. It was, however, eventually released as the final disc of the box-set anthology The Rubble Collection Volumes 11-20.

blue highlight denotes track pick