Isata Kanneh-Mason

Romance: The Piano Music of Clara Schumann

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

Romance: The Piano Music of Clara Schumann Review

by James Manheim

The Kanneh-Mason family has a website covering all seven siblings, plus a piano trio, who are active musically. Cellist Sheku Kanneh-Mason has gotten the headlines with his appearance at the Prince Harry-Meghan Markle wedding, but now comes older sister Isata Kanneh-Mason, elegant indeed in an off-the-shoulder African dress. She deserves credit for choosing an off-the-beaten-path program for her debut: a recital of Clara Schumann's piano music. These pieces are played more often than they used to be, but most of them, especially the concluding Piano Sonata in G minor that was not published until 1991, still qualify as novel. Kanneh-Mason takes the works chronologically, which has the virtue of showing Schumann's compositional development but the disadvantage of leading with the weakest suit, the Piano Concerto in A minor, Op. 7, which the composer wrote in her teens. It's a precocious and at times clever work, but it is no match for Robert Schumann's Piano Concerto in A minor, Op. 54, and the performance with Holly Mathieson leading the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra is straightforward but no more. Things improve as Kanneh-Mason traverses two sets of Romances, a Scherzo, and two arrangements of music by Robert Schumann. The best is saved for last with the Piano Sonata in G minor. Clara Schumann modestly titled this work a Sonatine and gave it to her husband as a Christmas present. The latter should not disqualify it from consideration in the least, and the Sonatine title was given when the work had only two movements; Schumann returned to the work twice and ended up with a substantial four-movement work that is more sonata than sonatina. Sample its muscular Scherzo, which also shows Kanneh-Mason developing some lively power. She's definitely a pianist to watch, and this is a worthwhile addition to the Clara Schumann discography.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
Piano Concerto in A minor Op. 7
1 Isata Kanneh-Mason 06:11 Amazon
2 Isata Kanneh-Mason 04:54 Amazon
3 Isata Kanneh-Mason 10:11 Amazon
3 Romances for piano Op. 11
4 Isata Kanneh-Mason 03:02 Amazon
5 Isata Kanneh-Mason 06:17 Amazon
6 Isata Kanneh-Mason 04:23 Amazon
7 Isata Kanneh-Mason 04:52 Amazon
3 Romances for violin and piano Op. 22
8 Isata Kanneh-Mason feat: Elena Urioste 03:07 Amazon
9 Isata Kanneh-Mason feat: Elena Urioste 02:45 Amazon
10 Isata Kanneh-Mason feat: Elena Urioste 04:14 Amazon
11 Isata Kanneh-Mason 02:14 Amazon
12 Isata Kanneh-Mason 03:51 Amazon
Piano Sonata in G minor
13 Isata Kanneh-Mason 08:58 Amazon
14 Isata Kanneh-Mason 03:06 Amazon
15 Isata Kanneh-Mason 02:52 Amazon
16 Isata Kanneh-Mason 05:14 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick