Various Artists

Rock On 1985 [CD #2]

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Each volume of Excelsior's Rock On series provides an extremely arbitrary snapshot of the year that's being covered. Only 12 songs are on each disc, meaning that a good amount of space goes to waste, and there's little in the way of stylistic focus. Needless to say, these hastily patched-together budget-line discs shouldn't be considered suitable documentations for the years they are covering. Rock On: 1985 includes Ready for the World's "Oh Sheila," Glenn Frey's "The Heat Is On," Sly Fox's "Let's Go All the Way," New Edition's "Cool It Now," Jan Hammer's "Miami Vice Theme," Aretha Franklin's "Who's Zoomin' Who," and Corey Hart's "Never Surrender."

blue highlight denotes track pick