Rock On 1984

Various Artists

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

Rock On 1984 Review

by Andy Kellman

Each volume of Excelsior's Rock On series provides an extremely arbitrary snapshot of the year that's being covered. Only 12 songs are on each disc, meaning that a good amount of space goes to waste, and there's little in the way of stylistic focus. Needless to say, these hastily patched-together budget-line discs shouldn't be considered suitable documentations for the years they are covering. Rock On: 1984 includes John Waite's "Missing You," Dan Hartman's "I Can Dream About You," Chaka Khan's "I Feel for You," Pat Benatar's "We Belong," Ashford & Simpson's "Solid," Culture Club's "Miss Me Blind," and Thompson Twins' "Hold Me Now."

blue highlight denotes track pick