Various Artists

Rock On 1977

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Each volume of Excelsior's Rock On series provides an extremely arbitrary snapshot of the year that's being covered. Only 12 songs are on each disc, meaning that a good amount of space goes to waste, and there's little in the way of stylistic focus. Needless to say, these hastily patched-together budget-line discs shouldn't be considered suitable documentation for the years they are covering. Rock On: 1977 includes Glen Campbell's "Southern Nights," Jennifer Warnes' "Right Time of the Night," David Soul's "Don't Give Up on Us," KC & the Sunshine Band's "I'm Your Boogie Man," Rose Royce's "I Wanna Get Next to You," Crystal Gayle's "Don't It Make My Brown Eyes Blue," and Al Stewart's "Year of the Cat."

blue highlight denotes track pick