Andrés Orozco-Estrada / hr_Sinfonieorchester (Frankfurt Radio Symphony Orchestra)

Richard Strauss: Eine Alpensinfonie

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

One of Richard Strauss' longest symphonic poems, Eine Alpensinfonie (An Alpine Symphony) is organized into 22 continuous sections and scored for a massive late-Romantic orchestra of approximately 125 players. It is also a true showcase of the orchestra, displaying Strauss' full palette of tone colors, elaborately interwoven textures, lush harmonies, and novel effects, such as the wind and thunder machines in the "Gewitter und Sturm" section. As a result, Eine Alpensinfonie is a terrific vehicle for Andrés Orozco-Estrada and the Frankfurt Radio Symphony, and this audiophile presentation on Pentatone provides extraordinary spatial dimensions, a wide dynamic range, multichannel Surround Sound, and a sonic richness unrivaled by conventional digital recordings. Orozco-Estrada's pacing is broad and unhurried, giving the work a proper monumental feeling, if not exactly a sense of timelessness, and the duration of the performance at over 55 minutes puts it among the longest recordings available. Listeners should prepare to hear this performance in one sitting to get the proper impression of Strauss' Alpine adventure, and to follow its arc from the opening "Nacht" to its return at the end. Highly recommended.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time
Eine Alpensinfonie (An Alpine Symphony)
1 03:36
2 01:43
3 02:20
4 05:35
5 00:48
6 00:14
7 00:46
8 01:01
9 02:37
10 01:33
11 01:19
12 01:31
13 05:46
14 03:55
15 00:20
16 00:52
17 02:03
18 03:17
19 03:58
20 02:31
21 07:17
22 02:19
blue highlight denotes track pick