Rich Gang

Rich Gang

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

The story of Birdman's label Cash Money is a fascinating one, being born on the streets and then thriving/grinding there for a decade before Lil Wayne took it to the penthouse with a series of mammoth albums, and then Nicki Minaj took it to America's living room with her pop hits and gig as a judge on American Idol. Rich Gang, the collective and/or compilation -- even with the evidence in front of you, you're not really sure -- starts off with the label boss looking back all starry-eyed while narrating the opening "R.G.," which features veteran rapper and new Cash Money signee Mystikal. This slow track is followed by the slower "Million Dollar" with Future and Detail, and suddenly listeners are led to believe they are at the edge of something epic and awesome, something that will tie the whole Cash Money/Young Money/YMCMB universe together with style and purpose. Nope. "Tapout" is an all-star bit of flash that brings Future back to mix with the label's A-list (Wayne, Minaj, and Birdman) while the great "50 Plates" brings Maybach boss Rick Ross into the family for something as exciting as a Marvel/DC Comics crossover, but these high points are matched by a cut called "Panties to the Side" (simple, strip-club fluff) featuring upstart French Montana (not a Cash Money artist) and a decent Birdman cut dubbed "We Been On" where R. Kelly and Wayne sound tacked on. The closing "Sunshine" finds Limp Bizkit and Flo Rida helping to deliver a breezy Birdman ballad, and suddenly, one begins to wonder if Rich Gang the album is simply a scrapped solo album from the label boss, one that was retooled and retitled, then hyped up to look like a Cash Money celebration piece. After all, Young Money superstar Drake is MIA, as is both the usual quality control and Cash Money sense of purpose. Fanatics only; everyone else can grab the singles.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 02:53 Amazon
2 02:27 Amazon
3 04:44 Amazon
4 05:32 Amazon
5 04:39 Amazon
6 03:26 Amazon
7 04:43 Amazon
8 04:08 Amazon
9 04:13 Amazon
10 04:25 Amazon
11 04:21 Amazon
12 04:10 Amazon
13 04:07 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick