Rhythm Nation 1814

Janet Jackson

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

Rhythm Nation 1814 Review

by Alex Henderson

After shocking the R&B world with 1986's Control -- a gutsy, risk-taking triumph that was a radical departure from her first two albums -- Michael and Jermaine Jackson's younger sister reached an even higher artistic plateau with the conceptual Rhythm Nation 1814. Once again, she enlists the help of Time graduates Jimmy Jam and Terry Lewis (one of the more soulful production/songwriting teams of 1980s and '90s R&B) with wildly successful results. In 1989, protest songs were common in rap but rare in R&B -- Janet Jackson, following rap's lead, dares to address social and political topics on "The Knowledge," the disturbing "State of the World," and the poignant ballad "Living in a World" (which decries the reality of children being exposed to violence). Jackson's voice is wafer-thin, and she doesn't have much of a range -- but she definitely has lots of soul and spirit and uses it to maximum advantage on those gems as well as nonpolitical pieces ranging from the Prince-influenced funk/pop of "Miss You Much" and "Alright" to the caressing, silky ballads "Someday Is Tonight," "Alone," and "Come Back to Me" to the pop/rock smoker "Black Cat." For those purchasing their first Janet Jackson release, Rhythm Nation would be an even wiser investment than Control -- and that's saying a lot.

Track Listing

Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
Janet Jackson 00:47 SpotifyAmazon
2 Janet Jackson 05:31 SpotifyAmazon
Janet Jackson 00:22 SpotifyAmazon
4 Janet Jackson 04:48 SpotifyAmazon
Janet Jackson 00:05 SpotifyAmazon
6 Janet Jackson 03:54 SpotifyAmazon
Janet Jackson 00:03 SpotifyAmazon
8 Janet Jackson 04:12 SpotifyAmazon
Janet Jackson 00:21 SpotifyAmazon
10 Janet Jackson 05:50 SpotifyAmazon
11 Janet Jackson 04:41 SpotifyAmazon
12 Janet Jackson 06:26 SpotifyAmazon
Janet Jackson 00:10 SpotifyAmazon
14 Janet Jackson 04:44 SpotifyAmazon
Janet Jackson 00:05 SpotifyAmazon
16 Janet Jackson 04:50 SpotifyAmazon
17 Janet Jackson 04:59 SpotifyAmazon
18 Janet Jackson 05:33 SpotifyAmazon
19 Janet Jackson 06:00 SpotifyAmazon
Janet Jackson 01:07 SpotifyAmazon
blue highlight denotes track pick