The Yardbirds

Rhythm & Blues

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Rhythm & Blues is yet another in the seemingly endless series of compilations of the Yardbirds' early recordings that results from the group's having signed away the rights to its work from 1963 to early 1966 to its manager, Giorgio Gomelsky, who has since licensed the material to anyone who wanted it. The 16-track compilation includes all of the Yardbirds' U.S. and U.K. singles chart entries of the period -- "Good Morning Little Schoolgirl," "For Your Love," "Heart Full of Soul," "Evil Hearted You," "Still I'm Sad," "I'm a Man," and "Shapes of Things" -- plus assorted other recordings, such as the B-sides "Steeled Blues" and "You're a Better Man Than I"; LP tracks "I Ain't Done Wrong," "My Girl Sloopy," and "The Train Kept A Rollin'"; and the blues covers "Baby What's Wrong," "You Can't Judge a Book by Its Cover," and "Take It Easy." The result is a reasonable sampler of the first half of the Yardbirds' career, but no more than that.

blue highlight denotes track pick