Sandra Boynton

Rhinoceros Tap

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Inspired by the whimsical drawings of cartoonist/illustrator Sandra Boynton, Rhinoceros Tap features music by Boynton and Michael Ford, vocals by actor/singer Adam Bryant, and, of course, liner notes decorated with Boynton's slightly crazy menagerie. Bryant also worked with Boynton and Ford on the "imaginary musical revue" Philadelphia Chickens, and once again, his sweet tenor complements the songwriting duo's witty lyrics and music. As with Philadelphia Chickens, Rhinoceros Tap is strongly influenced by the sound and structure of classic Broadway show tunes, which adds to its ageless appeal; though the whimsy of "The Crabby Song," "I Love You More Than Cheese," "O, Lonely Peas," and "The Shortest Song in the Universe" is definitely kid-friendly, the album doesn't exclude adults from its audience either. Other standout tracks include the folk-pop of "Goodbye Doggies," the lumbering fun of "Dinosaur Round," and the manic "Tickle Time," which really captures the mischievous fun of a tickle fight. Rhinoceros Tap is another smart and funny album from Boynton and Ford that truly does provide entertainment for all ages.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 03:30 SpotifyAmazon
2 03:21 SpotifyAmazon
3 03:09 SpotifyAmazon
4 02:14 SpotifyAmazon
5 02:39 SpotifyAmazon
6 03:20 SpotifyAmazon
7 02:43 SpotifyAmazon
8 00:47 SpotifyAmazon
9 02:27 SpotifyAmazon
10 01:48 SpotifyAmazon
11 02:41 SpotifyAmazon
12 02:23 SpotifyAmazon
13 01:37 SpotifyAmazon
14 02:40 SpotifyAmazon
15 02:42 SpotifyAmazon
03:04 SpotifyAmazon
blue highlight denotes track pick