Shorty Rogers & His Giants

Return to Rio

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Flugelhornist Shorty Rogers' next-to-last jazz date before becoming a full-time studio arranger for 20 years is quite forgettable. Rogers utilizes seven horns, a rhythm section and five percussionists in an attempt to cash in on the bossa-nova fad. The 11 selections are generally quite concise (only one exceeds four minutes by more than a few seconds) and total up to less than 33 minutes. The emphasis is on ensembles with occasional statements from Rogers but surprisingly little happens. The overall results are pleasant but a bit of a disappointment.