Javier García

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

Remix Review

by Jason Birchmeier

Fonovisa released Remix a year after the moderate success of Javier García's self-titled debut. The dozen-track release is comprised of remixes, with the exception of the opener, the new song "Lágrimas Negras," a cover of the song originally written by Miguel Matamoros. While there are a dozen songs here, giving Remix a full-length running time, keep in mind that there are multiple remixes of the same four songs: "Lágrimas Negras," "Tranquila," "Estaba Ciego," and "A Casa." So the going can get a bit repetitive here. Nonetheless, García gives these four songs a surprising diversity of spins -- from ragga to speed garage interpretations, for instance, showcasing his grasp of numerous musical styles and thereby foreshadowing the diversity of his next release, 13 (which, granted, wouldn't be released for another seven long years).

blue highlight denotes track pick