Vasily Petrenko / Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra

Stravinsky: The Firebird; Rimsky-Korsakov: Le Coq d'Or

(CD - Onyx / Onyx Classics #ONYX 4175)

Review by

From 1905 to 1908, Igor Stravinsky studied with Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov, and the older composer's influence is apparent in the works Stravinsky composed at the time, such as the Scherzo fantastique and Feu d'artifice, as well as the full-fledged ballet L'Oiseau de feu, written in 1910. To demonstrate the connection between the two composers, Vasily Petrenko and the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra have paired Stravinsky's complete ballet with the concert suite from Rimsky-Korsakov's opera, Le Coq d'or, composed in the same period and which clearly influenced Stravinsky in its fantastic subject matter, exotic melodies, and magical orchestration. This 2018 release on Onyx captures the atmosphere and mystery of both works, and while Petrenko is distinguished as one of the most eloquent advocates for Russian music, he displays a sensibility that is almost French in the diaphanous tone colors and delicate, impressionistic shadings of these performances. While this is a standard CD release, the recorded sound is phenomenal, approaching audiophile quality in the finely separated parts, crisp details, wide dynamic range, and spatial depth of the ensemble, so the listening experience is surprisingly enjoyable.

Track Listing

Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
Le Coq d'or (Zolotoy Petushok) - Suite The Golden Cockerel
1 09:11 Amazon
2 04:28 Amazon
3 06:30 Amazon
4 06:18 Amazon
L' Oiseau de feu - Ballet The Firebird
5 03:12 Amazon
6 01:56 Amazon
7 02:13 Amazon
8 01:11 Amazon
9 01:04 Amazon
10 09:32 Amazon
11 02:25 Amazon
12 06:17 Amazon
13 06:33 Amazon
14 01:17 Amazon
15 04:30 Amazon
16 02:56 Amazon
17 02:31 Amazon
18 03:15 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick