New Orleans Rock & Roll Party

Various Artists

(Digital Download - Night Train #NTI 7045)

Review by Steve Leggett

A delightful collection of sides recorded between 1955 and 1959 at J&M and Cosimo's studios and originally released on regional New Orleans labels, this set of lively party songs from Night Train Records is full of rare gems like Billy Tircuit's goofy and infectious "Crazy Green Lizard," Stella Johnson's stark "Trial of Stagger Lee," Al Reed's conjunto-like "El Rancho Grande," and "When My Blue Moon Turns to Gold," a hard-charging, triple-time march from Big Al Downing. Most of these tracks are hybrids, poised right at the cusp of New Orleans R&B and sax-driven early rock & roll, making this set historically interesting as well as being a stomping good listen.

Track Listing

Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 Billy Tircuit 02:16 SpotifyAmazon
2 Calvin "Hound Dog" Ruffin 02:22 SpotifyAmazon
3 Stella Johnson 01:54 SpotifyAmazon
4 Stella Johnson 01:57 SpotifyAmazon
5 Chris Kenner 02:22 SpotifyAmazon
6 Chris Kenner 01:49 SpotifyAmazon
7 Earl Williams 02:27 SpotifyAmazon
8 Earl Williams 02:38 SpotifyAmazon
9 Ricky Jones 02:33 SpotifyAmazon
10 Ricky Jones 02:09 SpotifyAmazon
11 Byron Gipson 02:01 SpotifyAmazon
12 Byron Gipson 02:15 SpotifyAmazon
13 Al Reed 02:18 SpotifyAmazon
14 Al Reed 02:08 SpotifyAmazon
15 Billy Tircuit 02:34 SpotifyAmazon
16 Calvin "Hound Dog" Ruffin 02:29 SpotifyAmazon
17 Calvin "Hound Dog" Ruffin 02:22 SpotifyAmazon
18 The All Stars 02:32 SpotifyAmazon
19 Bea Booker 02:43 SpotifyAmazon
20 Big Al Downing 01:52 SpotifyAmazon
21 Big Al Downing 02:01 SpotifyAmazon
22 Larry Evans 02:28 SpotifyAmazon
23 Mel Lastie Band 02:38 SpotifyAmazon
blue highlight denotes track pick