Planet Pit [Deluxe Version]

(CD - J Records / Polo Grounds Music #88697910542)

Review by

Returning to English after his Spanish-language album Armando, Miami-based rapper Pitbull goes overboard with the gloss on Planet Pit and winds up with a slick club monster that just gushes with good times. Solid hooks, polished production, cutting-edge tricks, and a star-studded guest list makes this a blockbuster thrill ride, but the reason Planet Pit retains its sense of fun through repeated listens is the man’s cool charisma and cheeky attitude. “Mommy, no you can’t go left/’Cause you look so right” and “I’m such a dirty, dirty dog/My teeth will unsnap your bra” both figure into the gimmicky highlight “Pause” while “Got it locked-up, like Lindsey Lohan” is the best celebrity quip in the massive “Give Me Everything,” a star-obsessed, money-flashing, sweet ride-driving declaration of opulence that comes with some spicy flavor, making it an easy nomination for “Quintessential Miami Club Track.” Add some witty adaptations -- Harry Belafonte’s classic gets the T-Pain and Sean Paul treatment on the electro-calypso “Shake Señora” -- some grand power ballads -- the Kelly Rowland feature “Castle Made of Sand” -- and some full-bodied house music -- “Took My Love” -- and Planet Pit becomes the quintessential Miami club album with an extra dose of mass appeal. This is a hip-hop-flavored club effort of Elephunk proportions and another high-water mark for the don of pop-rap’s glitter dome. [A Deluxe Version added four bonus tracks.]

Track Listing

Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 1:24
2 4:12
3 3:51
4 3:54
5 3:00 SpotifyAmazon
6 3:50
7 3:34
8 3:47
9 3:48
10 4:29
11 3:50
12 3:04 SpotifyAmazon
13 3:07
14 4:12
15 2:55
16 3:40
blue highlight denotes track pick