McCoy Tyner

Reevaluations: The Impulse Years

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

This two-LP reissue package came out in 1973. Highlights from five of pianist McCoy Tyner's six Impulse albums are included plus one selection ("You'd Be So Nice To Come Home To") from a sampler and four numbers ("Welcome," the classic "One Down, One Up," "Serenity" and "Sun Ship") from Tyner's work with the John Coltrane Quartet. Although the programming is somewhat random (skipping around chronologically), the music is consistently rewarding, displaying McCoy Tyner's early style. However most of this music has since been reissued on CD and it is preferable to acquire these performances as part of Tyner's complete sessions.