Red Norvo

Red Norvo, Featuring Mildred Bailey

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

This CD reissue by Columbia in their Legacy series is a bit of a hodgepodge, covering a 2 1/2 year period in the bandleading career of xylophonist Red Norvo. Unfortunately the music is not programmed in chronological order but since most of these largely enjoyable 18 titles (including two never previously released) have rarely been reissued, this sampler will have to do until a more "complete" session comes along. Norvo's band during this period not only featured the occasional vocals of his wife, Mildred Bailey, but fine solo work from the tenor of Herbie Haymer, clarinetist Hank D'Amico and trumpeter Stew Pletcher in addition to the leader. The biggest key in Norvo's orchestra achieving a sound of its own, however, were the distinctive and inventive arrangements of Eddie Sauter. This CD contains great music that deserves to be reissued more coherently.

Track Listing

Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 03:13 Amazon
2 02:54 Amazon
3 02:36 Amazon
4 02:54 Amazon
5 03:12 Amazon
6 02:42 Amazon
7 02:57 Amazon
8 02:36 Amazon
9 03:04 Amazon
10 03:14 Amazon
11 02:51 Amazon
12 02:58 Amazon
13 03:04 Amazon
14 02:56 Amazon
15 03:00 Amazon
16 02:40 Amazon
17 02:52 Amazon
18 02:58 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick