Rattlesnake Rock 'N' Roll: The Best of Blackfoot

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Southern rock's last great gasp is spelled out on this 18-track compilation. Wisely leaving off anything from the weak albums (No Reservations, Siogo, Vertical Smiles, and Rick Medlocke & Blackfoot) and cherry-picking from the rest of Blackfoot's output, this slims the group's best down to a nice solid chunk of heavy twin Southern rock guitars, macho lyrics, and thundering drumbeats. While some naysayers will point to the group's "Highway Song" as being little more than a spirited "Free Bird" knockoff, the guitar interplay between Medlocke and Charlie Hargrett is well worth the listen. Other highlights include "Train Train," "Left Turn on a Red Light," and a cover of Free's "Wishing Well." Another special bonus is three tracks from Highway Song Live, a U.K.-only release that clearly illustrates what a potent live combination the original quartet truly was.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 2:49
2 4:39
3 3:14 Amazon
4 3:37
5 7:34 Amazon
6 4:06
7 3:46
8 3:18
9 4:24
10 5:38
11 4:06
12 3:01
13 4:04
14 3:50 Amazon
15 6:04 Amazon
16 1:54 Amazon
17 4:01
18 5:28
blue highlight denotes track pick