Ian Gillan

Rarities 1975-77

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Best-known as the vocalist of British heavy metal rockers Deep Purple, Ian Gillan was also a bandleader for groups bearing his own name. This rarities collection concentrates on his post-Purple period with the Ian Gillan Band, which featured guitarist Ray Fenwick, bassist John Gustafson, Mike Moran on keyboards, and Mark Nauseef on drums. While IGB recorded three albums, Rarities only includes tracks from 1976's Child in Time and the following year's Scarabus release (it excludes anything from early 1977's more experimental, less hard-rocking Clear Air Turbulence). Of the material here, most interesting to Gillan aficionados will be alternative tracks of both "Country Lights" and the title track from Scarabus. Rounding out Rarities are six previously unreleased songs, all culled from Gillan's personal archive. Additionally, Gillan oversaw the mastering of this recording and provided rare band photographs from his own collection for the cover art and liner notes.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 4:10 Amazon
2 4:07 Amazon
3 3:19 Amazon
4 3:27 Amazon
5 3:17 Amazon
6 7:06 Amazon
7 4:59 Amazon
8 5:02 Amazon
9 10:10 Amazon
10 3:44 Amazon
11 4:43 Amazon
12 4:26 Amazon
13 4:15 Amazon
14 4:07 Amazon
15 7:51 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick