Various Artists

R&B Collection: Summer 2009

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Slightly misleading in its title, R&B Collection: Summer 2009 was released in May 2009 and didn’t quite forecast what was to come, and a handful of selections date as far back as 2003. Still, it’s a decent and reasonably priced 39-song collection that rounds up a number of chart hits from late 2008 through early 2009. And it should be noted that the set isn’t strictly R&B; R&B in this case is code for music that is not rock-oriented, as the set covers not just R&B but rap and dance-pop. The highlights include Tinchy Stryder’s “Number 1,” Ne-Yo’s “Miss Independent,” Taio Cruz’s “She’s a Star,” Jazmine Sullivan’s “Bust Your Windows,” and Danso’s “Tell Me.”

blue highlight denotes track pick