Quartet Music

Nels Cline

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

Quartet Music Review

by Scott Yanow

The debut recording by Quartet Music (which consists of violinist Jeff Gauthier, guitarist Nels Cline, bassist Eric Von Essen and drummer/percussionist Alex Cline) features the group playing three Von Essen originals and one apiece by Gauthier and Nels Cline. Each of the compositions (which include the Indian-flavored "Morning Raga," "Bill Evans" and "The Tightrope Walkers") has its own personality. The playing is fairly free but coherent, and even with some meandering sections (some of the interpretations would have benefited from being more concise), this thoughtful set generally succeeds.