DJ Drama

Quality Street Music

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Albums from hip-hop DJs -- like not a rapper, not a producer, not a turntablist, but a hip-hop DJ -- aren't considered highly anticipated unless you're Tony Touch, Red Alert, or DJ Drama. The man behind the Gangsta Grillz mixtapes and the man literally behind T.I. and his Grand Hustle crew continues to do the improbable on his 2012 release Quality Street Music, a mistitled set that goes a little pop when Wale, Tyga, and Roscoe Dash team for "So Many Girls," but the "Quality" part is right on, and the guest list is the best kind of ridiculous for rap fans. T-Pain, Cee Lo, 2 Chainz, Young Jeezy, and T.I. all appear before a great Kevin Hart skit splits the album in two. Waka Flocka Flame and Tyler, the Creator kick off the second half with the strange but satisfying "I'ma Hata" before names like Kendrick Lamar, ScHoolboy Q, and even Childish Gambino fill the album's second half with worthy rhymes. Still, it's a comp, and one that hangs together loosely, but Drama's Rolodex should be at FAO Schwarz because that thing is expensive and seriously stuffed.

Track Listing

Title/Composer Performer Time
1 4:17
2 4:38
3 3:18
4 4:02
5 3:29
6 4:05
feat: Kevin Hart
8 4:19
9 4:30
10 3:38
11 4:30
12 4:23
13 3:21
14 4:45
15 4:07
blue highlight denotes track pick