Various Artists

Pure Trance, Vol. 1

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Each volume in Water Music/Varese's Pure Trance series of compilations crams as many drastically edited versions of trance singles possible, just so they can boast about their "18 Chart-Topping Dance Floor Hits!" As with a lot of dance compilations, a high quantity of tracks on the disc -- especially when unmixed -- puts the listener at a disadvantage, since most dance tracks aren't designed for the three- to four-minute format. Some clubbers will recognize the inclusions here, including Moby's "We Are All Made of Stars," DJ Tiësto's "Suburban Train," the Air Play mix of ATB's "You're Not Alone," and Mauro Picotto's "Proximus." Several tracks are trance in the loosest sense, and there's too much nondescript filler to make the disc anything more than a way to get a handful of stray (edited) favorites in one spot.

blue highlight denotes track pick