Various Artists

Pure Soul Power

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

UTV's Pure Soul Power is a 20-track collection of soul staples -- and when we say soul, we mean '70s soul, as the gritty Southern Stax vibe and uptown vibe of Chicago and Motown gave way to the smooth stylings of Philly and the flamboyant pimp strut of blaxploitation. This is what Pure Soul Power captures, from its incipient roots in King Floyd's "Groove Me" and Aretha's crushingly omnipresent "Respect" to post-classic soul songs like Tower of Power's "What Is Hip?," which means it casts a sastisfyingly wide net. The main problem, at least for record geeks, is that this is almost entirely predictable selections -- "What's Going On," "Ball of Confusion," "Move on Up," "Across 110th Street," "Express Yourself, "Respect Yourself," "Whatcha See Is Whatcha Get," "Tired of Being Alone," "Back Stabbers," "I'll Be Around," "Love Rollercoaster" are all great songs, but almost anybody with a reasonably sized record collection will have all of these. If they don't, this is an excellent, entertaining way to get all these classics at once.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time
1 3:51
2 4:04
3 2:46
4 2:22
5 3:49
6 3:47
7 6:51
8 3:18
10 3:50
12 2:57
13 4:54
14 3:56
15 2:41
16 3:09
17 3:07
18 2:53
19 5:17
20 5:04
blue highlight denotes track pick