European Union Baroque Orchestra

Pure Handel

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Even though the full title of this album indicates that it contains George Frederick Handel's Water Music, potential purchasers need to know that only the Suite No. 1 in F major from Water Music is included, along with other works. This misleading title should not detract from appreciation of the quality of the music, for the period style performances by the European Union Baroque Orchestra of the Overture to Admeto, the Concerto Grosso in F major, and vocal works that feature soprano Maria Keohane, are certainly attractive and worth having in their own right. Led by harpsichordist Lars Ulrik Mortensen, the small Baroque orchestra plays with clean lines and crisp articulation, and the ensemble's sound is convincingly authentic. Keohane sings with grace and elegant phrasing, and demonstrates a fine sense of embellishment and tonal production in her dramatic interpretations of the solo cantatas Ero e Leandro and Ah! Che troppo ineguali, as well as the aria Tu del Ciel ministro eletto from the oratorio Il trionfo del Tempo e del Disinganno. On the whole, this is a representative sampler of Handel's instrumental and vocal music that is definitely worth hearing, though any listeners who seek the complete Water Music need to look elsewhere.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
Admeto, HWV 22
1 4:55
Ero e Leandro, cantata, HWV 150
2 0:37
3 6:20
4 0:37
5 5:19
6 0:55
7 6:21
8 1:43
Water Music, Suite No. 1 in F major, HWV 348
9 2:59 Amazon
10 2:04 Amazon
11 2:32 Amazon
12 2:13 Amazon
13 3:00 Amazon
3:16 Amazon
15 2:09 Amazon
16 1:35 Amazon
17 1:12 Amazon
18 3:42 Amazon
Ah! Che troppo inequali, cantata, HWV 230
19 1:01
20 9:01
Concerto Grosso in F major, Op. 6 No. 2, HWV 320
21 3:34 Amazon
22 2:30 Amazon
23 2:41 Amazon
24 2:41 Amazon
Il trionfo del Tempo e del Disinganno, HWV 46a
25 5:49
blue highlight denotes track pick