Various Artists

Pure Funk, Vol. 2

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Like Pure Disco before it, Pure Funk was a success, so there was only one thing for Mercury to do -- release Pure Funk, Vol. 2. Since the Pure series is surprisingly enjoyable, the sequel was welcome and thankfully, it doesn't disappoint. Although some could argue that Queen's "Another One Bites the Dust" isn't real funk, most of the album delivers the goods, splitting the diffrence between the familiar and cult favorites. And that's the reason why Pure Funk, Vol. 2 works -- it has "Let It Whip," "Cut the Cake," "I Gotcha," "It's Your Thing," "I'm Gonna Love You Just a Little More, Baby," "You Sexy Thing," "Use Me," "Got to Give It Up" and "Keep on Truckin'," but also "Lovergirl," "You're the One for Me," "Get Down on It," "Mama Used to Say," "She's a Bad Mama Jama," "Street Life" and "Outstanding." The blend keeps the momentum going for both casual and hardcore funk fans and helps make Pure Funk, Vol. 2 another winner in Mercury's ongoing series.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 03:34 Amazon
2 02:43 Amazon
3 04:02 Amazon
4 03:59 Amazon
5 04:01 Amazon
6 04:09 Amazon
7 03:32 Amazon
8 03:45 Amazon
9 04:05 Amazon
10 03:54 Amazon
11 03:34 Amazon
12 03:36 Amazon
13 05:25 Amazon
14 02:20 Amazon
15 04:14 Amazon
16 03:58 Amazon
17 03:12 Amazon
18 03:33 Amazon
19 04:05 Amazon
20 03:32 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick