Lacy J. Dalton

Pure Country

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Sony Special Products' Pure Country is an effective sampler of Lacy J. Dalton's country-pop work for Columbia Records in the '70s and '80s. In fact, in many ways it works as a hits compilation, since seven of the featured songs -- "Takin' It Easy," "Hillbilly Girl with the Blues," "Hard Times," "Whisper," "Everybody Makes Mistakes," "Dream Baby (How Long Must I Dream)," "16th Avenue" -- were Top Ten country hits, while the remaining three ("Slow Down," "Size Seven Round (Made of Gold)," "Working Class Man") charted in the Top 20. Because of that, Pure Country is more than just a good bargain for a budget-line collection -- it's a good bargain in general.

blue highlight denotes track pick