Various Artists

Pure Chill Out

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Water Music's Pure Chill Out features 17 mellow vocal and instrumental electronic tracks, including Moby's "Rushing," Delerium's "Enchanted," Phobos' "Edge of Forever," and Moodswings' "Opium 45." The inclusion of more trip-hop-oriented tracks -- like Julia Messenger's "I Miss You," Heather Nova's "Gloomy Sunday," and Julee Cruise's "The Orbiting Beatnik" -- make this collection better for more mainstream audiences instead of devotees of underground chilled electronica, but Nightmares on Wax's "Stars," Fila Brazilia's "A Zed & 2 L's," and Kruder & Dorfmeister's "Original Bedroom Rockers" contribute a bit of an edge to the album without making it any less listener-friendly. Nitin Sawhney's "Breathing Light" and Baby Mammoth's "I'm Not Joking" are two more highlights from Pure Chill Out, which offers a pleasant, if not revolutionary, set of relaxing electronic music.

blue highlight denotes track pick