Various Artists

Punk Goes Pop, Vol. 7

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

On the seventh installment of Fearless Records' popular Punk Goes Pop cover series, a motley crew of pop-punk, metalcore, and other Warped Tour favorites put their visceral spins on Top 40 hits. The Amity Affliction scream their way through the Weeknd's "Can't Feel My Face" while Andy Black and Juliet Simms deliver a moving duet version of Adele's already stirring ballad "When We Were Young." Elsewhere, Eat Your Heart Out take on Ed Sheeran's "Shape of You" and Ice Nine Kills tackle Taylor Swift and Zayn Malik's Fifty Shades collaboration, "I Don't Wanna Live Forever." Punk Goes Pop, Vol. 7 even includes the Chainsmokers' "Closer" and Justin Bieber's "Love Yourself" for the hardcore kids who might not want to admit they can hum along to both ubiquitous tunes.

blue highlight denotes track pick