• AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Circle's post-Zopalki albums have been somehow odd: You can understand what Circle tried to achieve, but for some reason the group didn't quite catch the atmosphere. Pori, from 1998, seemed very close to the sound Jussi Lehtisalo might have wanted, and yet Circle's experiments with '70s-style Krautrock were only halfway successful. Now, Lehtisalo brings Circle over to his own Ektroverde label, with excellent results. First of all, there are hardly any losses at all on Prospekt. All six songs are well arranged, and they sound as complete as they could get. The most interesting thing on Prospekt is Circle's incredible patience. Someone might consider a ten-minute song with only one riff to be very boring, but Circle has built the songs on Prospekt well: Circle plays one riff so long that the listener is put into a hypnotic state of mind, and then the band varies the theme just a little bit. The change feels extremely sharp, but that's the beauty of Circle's music. Circle has tried to achieve this since Meronia, but during the Bad Vugum era they were so young (how good could those albums ever sound?) that they had problems getting rid of their punkish attitude. This problem no longer exists, and it seems that Lehtisalo and the rest of Circle have grown up musically. Prospekt is without a doubt the best of the post-Zopalki albums. Its atmosphere is like the glass object in the cover: a fragile monotone, but when you point a light at it, you get all its beautiful shades.

Track Listing

Title/Composer Performer Time
1 8:22
2 6:45
3 6:53
4 6:55
5 10:17
6 10:33
blue highlight denotes track pick