St. Petersburg Philharmonic Orchestra / Yuri Temirkanov

Prokofiev: Excerpts from Cinderella, Romeo & Juliet

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Although they have since become immortalized as two of his more popular compositions, the ballets Cinderella and Romeo and Juliet had a hard time getting off the ground. With Romeo and Juliet, the complexity of Prokofiev's score precluded an immediate premiere with its intended ballet company, and Prokofiev actually premiered the suites before the ballet itself. The Second World War put the premiere of Cinderella on hold for some five years after its completion. The suites from both of these ballets are performed frequently now. The complete suites from both ballets are rather lengthy, and excerpting is common. This Signum Classics album, with the St. Petersburg Philharmonic Orchestra under Yuri Temirkanov, might take this concept a bit too far, giving listeners only a short taste of what both complete suites have to offer. Listeners should also note that both the track titles and timings are incorrect on the album's cover and liner notes. Temirkanov's interpretations of Prokofiev's works are what one might hope for from a seasoned Russian orchestra led by a venerable Russian conductor: robust, vigorous, vehement, and passionate. Temirkanov's tempo choices are appropriately restrained, drawing out the angst of Romeo and Juliet and the elegance of Cinderella. The SPPO's sound is vibrant and powerful, especially the wonderfully pungent tone achieved by the full brass section.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time
Cinderella, Op. 107
1 2:51
2 3:39
3 3:16
4 4:09
Cinderella, Op. 108
5 5:13
6 4:23
Cinderella, Op. 109
7 3:06
Cinderella, Op. 107
8 4:54
9 5:04
Romeo & Juliet, Op. 64ter
10 3:59
11 2:20
12 2:05
13 7:28
14 2:03
Romeo & Juliet, Op. 64bis
15 4:53
16 6:18
blue highlight denotes track pick