Diana Ross

Portrait, Vols. 1 & 2

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

The two volumes of Portrait were released as a single package in 1986. When taken together, the two discs result in a good overview of her career from the Supremes to the end of the '70s. Most of Vol. 1 is devoted to the Supremes, with many of the group's biggest hits ("Where Did Our Love Go," "Baby Love," "Stop! In the Name of Love," "You Can't Hurry Love") featured alongside "Ain't No Mountain High Enough," "Remember Me," "Surrender," and "Love Hangover." The second volume is devoted to such singles as "I'm Still Waiting," "Reach Out and Touch (Somebody's Hand)," "All of My Life," "Theme from Mahogany," "The Boss," "Upside Down," "I'm Coming Out," "It's My Turn," and "Endless Love." It's an entertaining collection, and one of the most comprehensive overviews of her career yet assembled.