Various Artists

Pop Under the Surface, Vol. 4

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

As he did on the previous three volumes of Pop Under the Surface, Stefan Johansson -- of Sweden's Yesterday Girl Records -- compiled Pop Under the Surface: Vol. 4, which features 24 pop groups and artists on one the better collections in the entire series. New Jersey's Evelyn Forever, the Sid Griffin-led Western Electric, Eytan Mirsky, Brian Wilson-sideman Jeffrey Foskett, and L.A.'s Cockeyed Ghost (led by Adam Marsland) provide some of the highlights on this disc. This time around, the series was released via Zip Records. As with the first three volumes, many of the tracks on Pop Under The Surface: Vol. 4 -- which comes with a 28-page booklet with information on all the artists, their discographies, and contact addresses -- were completely unavailable at the time of its release. A stellar comp.

blue highlight denotes track pick