Pop & Wave, Vol. 6

Various Artists

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

Pop & Wave, Vol. 6 Review

by Tim Sendra

Sony International's Pop & Wave, Vol. 6 collects two discs' worth of poppy new wave tracks by some of the biggest names as well as some one-hit wonders and very obscure groups too. If the two discs were boiled down to one it would be an incredibly strong collection, but even as it is with a bit of filler included, the collection has some of the biggest hits of the new wave era. Songs like "Love Missile F1-11" by Sigue Sigue Sputnik, "One Thing Leads to Another" by the Fixx, "Don't You (Forget About Me)" by Simple Minds, "Poison Arrow" by ABC, and "Take My Breath Away" by Berlin are the type of tunes that define the era. Even the filler is entertaining, especially Flash and the Pan's "Ayla," Johnny Hates Jazz's "Shattered Dreams," and Baltimora's "Tarzan Boy." So if you are looking for a disc that captures the feel and sound of the synthetic '80s, this disc (and any in the Pop & Wave series) will fit the bill.

blue highlight denotes track pick