Fania All-Stars

Ponte Duro: The Fania All Stars Story

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

A gargantuan set for a gargantuan collective, Ponte Duro: The Fania All Stars Story presents a portrait of the salsa supergroup that has never been seen before -- at least not in one place. Including three discs of live material and one disc of studio material, it mirrors the scope of their long career and, although it doesn't include much that's new or unheard, it's a good way to understand the group in a single package. Expanding from New York to around the world, from San Juan and Havana to Zaire and Japan, the Fania All-Stars' live material was always the highlight of their discography, and here's it's right at the front, nearly four hours of it. Meanwhile, the non-live sides reflect their studio power, although material from their Columbia years during the late '70s was not licensed for use. (Most fans won't consider that a tragedy.) The live material from concerts in Cuba, Zaire, and Japan is rare (although all of it originally appeared on LP), so fans could just as easily pick up a couple of the best live albums for roughly the same price, but between the five hours of music and the interesting essay and priceless photos, Ponte Duro is a fine release.

Track Listing - Disc 4

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 2:10 SpotifyAmazon
2:10 SpotifyAmazon
3 5:20 SpotifyAmazon
4 4:03 SpotifyAmazon
5 3:09 SpotifyAmazon
6 2:53 Amazon
3:50 SpotifyAmazon
8 4:44 SpotifyAmazon
9 6:34 SpotifyAmazon
10 2:12 SpotifyAmazon
11 4:52 SpotifyAmazon
12 8:06 SpotifyAmazon
13 5:24 SpotifyAmazon
14 5:15 SpotifyAmazon
15 4:25 SpotifyAmazon
16 4:09 SpotifyAmazon
17 5:32 SpotifyAmazon
18 4:38 SpotifyAmazon
blue highlight denotes track pick