Various Artists

Playground, Vol. 3

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Ecco Chamber, a label from Vienna, is responsible for the Playground series. On each installment, the label commissions someone to put together a set of downtempo tracks that leans toward nu-jazz territory. A term like "nu-jazz" might be an immediate deal-breaker, but the results are often better than the type of lethargy-inducing fluff you might expect. On the third volume, Aromabar -- Andreas Kinzl and Roland Hackl -- take control, stringing together a decent set of 17 tracks that includes Smith & Mighty's "Same," Nuspirit Helsinki's "Change (Space Disco Mix)," Mum's "Nice Round," and Archie Shepp's "A Sea of Faces (Uhuru Dub Mix)."

blue highlight denotes track pick