Roy Orbison

Platinum Collection

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Roy Orbison's three-disc Platinum Collection from EMI contains 49 original Monument and Virgin recordings from the early '60s through the '80s. Obvious number one classics like "Only the Lonely" (1960), "Running Scared" (1961), and "Oh Pretty Woman" (1964) are represented alongside his final chart entries and posthumous hits, including the duet version of "Crying" with k.d. Lang (1987), "You Got It" (1989), and "I Drove All Night" (1992). This collection, coupled with Bear Family's Sun Years 1956-58, forms a well-rounded retrospective of Orbison's hauntingly beautiful voice and timeless material.

blue highlight denotes track pick