Platinum & Gold Collection

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

The 12 tracks in this collection offer an intimate and striking portrait of BlackHawk, the mainstream country trio comprised of Henry Paul, Van Stephenson, and Dave Robbins. This set collects the band's hits from their inception and first single in 1993 through the period when Van Stephenson had to leave the band in 2000 because of a cancer that killed him. While Blackhawk never issued an album that was solid from start to finish, they are one of the most consistent singles acts to emerge from mainstream country in 1990s. With their infectious three-part harmonies, glorious acoustic guitar and piano-dominated arrangements, and endearing heartfelt delivery, they are indeed closer to traditional country music in spirit if not in sound than some of their more "authentic" peers. Collected here are the smashes "Postmarked Birmingham," "Every Once in a While," "I'm Not Strong Enough to Say No," "Hole in My Heart," "Goodbye Says It All," and "Let "Em Whirl," with a mess of other tunes, all of which charted in the Billboard Top 50. For the price, this collection cannot be beat.

blue highlight denotes track pick