Various Artists

Plastic Compilation, Vol. 6

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

This 12-track collection, Nettwerk's sixth installment in the Plastic Compilation series, features some of the new millennium's finest electronic artists. Acts such as the Chemical Brothers, Fatboy Slim, and DJ Tiësto remain dance club mainstays while others like Way Out West and Raven Maize deliver funky breaks to a new audience. Timo Maas' new wave spiral "To Get Down (Main Mix)" finds a sultry mood with its fashionably slick basslines, making it a definite standout. The Russian dance pair PPK hit it big in 2001 with the infectious trance grooves of "Resurrection." The original mix included on Plastic Compilation, Vol. 6 celebrates the intensity behind that particular track. Other delectable bites from Andy Hunter ("Amazing") and Luke Slater ("Nothing at All [King Unique's Chocolate Orange]") round out this hella cool album. Nettwerk always has an ear for what works, and the selections featured on Plastic Compilation, Vol. 6 indicate that dance music charges on for those mainstream individualists willing to listen -- regardless of trends.

blue highlight denotes track pick